## LOXHORE PARISH COUNCIL AGM

## www.loxhore.org.uk

## **Minutes**

Date: Friday 25<sup>th</sup> May 2018

Venue: Loxhore Village Hall

Present: Mike Matthews {Chairman}

David Smith {Vice Chairman}
Chris Bryars {Councillor}
Carole Delve {Councillor}
Julie Moir {Councillor}
Malcolm Prowse {ND Councillor}
Mike Bowden {Parishioner}
Syd Delve {Treasurer}

Minuted by: Priscilla Gellatly {Acting Clerk}

The Chairman opened the meeting at 18:00 and welcomed everyone.

1. Apologies: There were no apologies.

2. Declarations of interest: There were none.

3. Councillors agreed that the minutes of the previous AGM dated 11<sup>th</sup> May 2017 were a true and accurate record of that spoken and the Chairman signed accordingly.

Mike Matthews announced that he was stepping down from the Parish Council. He thanked everyone involved with Loxhore Parish Council. He explained that he had joined in 2002, after being asked by Joe Tucker, and had taken over as Chairman in 2005. He was pleased to be able to say that all Loxhore Parish Councillors, past and present, had been enthusiastic in working for the good of Loxhore. When he had attended meetings elsewhere he had always pushed Loxhore's interests to the fore. In recent years he had often spoken at high-level meetings in an effort to improve the broadband coverage in Loxhore. He thanked past and present Devon County Councillors and North Devon Councillors, in particular Malcolm Prowse. He thanked the current (acting) Clerk and the previous Clerk, Keith Luckhurst and went on to thank the Treasurer, Syd Delve who had been in post since 2003 and was also stepping down. He said that Syd had given sterling service, particularly when dealing with the Annual Audit – an extremely onerous task. He thanked Chris Bryars for taking on the role of Responsible Financial Officer. He gave his thanks and best wishes to the incoming Chair. He then moved away from the PC seats and the Acting Clerk took over.

4.0	Election of Chair and other Parish Council Officers	
4.1	On May 7 <sup>th</sup> 2015 Carole Delve, Mike Matthews and Julie Moir were elected	
	uncontested and David Smith was co-opted to act as Parish Councillors for the following four years.	
	On May 11 <sup>th</sup> 2017 Chris Bryars was co-opted to act as a Parish Councillor.	
	Today Mike Matthews stepped down from the Parish Council, after 16 years as a	
	Parish Councillor and 13 years as Chair and Syd Delve stepped down from his role as Treasurer (Responsible Financial Officer) after 13 years in post.	
	Treasurer (Responsible Financial Officer) after 13 years in post.	
	The four remaining councillors updated their Register of Interests forms, as required annually.	
	The election of officers for the Parish Council for 2018/19 then took place.	
	Julie Moir was proposed as Chair by DS, seconded by CD and unanimously elected.	
	David Smith was proposed as Vice Chair by JM, seconded by CD and unanimously elected.	
	Chris Bryars was proposed as Responsible Financial Officer (RFO) by CD, seconded	
	by DS and unanimously elected.	
	Priscilla Gellatly had agreed to continue to act as Clerk until a new Clerk could be	
	appointed. She was proposed as Clerk by CB, seconded by JM and unanimously	
	elected.	Closed

Julie Moir, the newly elected Chair, closed the AGM at 18:12.		
Minutes approved by Chair	Date	